The Power of Prevention Through Fitness and Nutrition (POPTFN), one of the advocacies of the mother society of AACE in the United States which started ten years ago, was launched here in the Philippines last November 11, 2007.   The project aims to instill awareness among Grade 6 students about obesity and its complications like diabetes and cardiovascular diseases. The launch was participated by representatives from the different schools in Luzon which were chosen as pilot schools for this project. Included in the launch was the component project supported by the office of Senator Edgardo Angara which will bestow the medal of excellence for health conscious students or the SEAALA (Senator Edgardo Angara Active Lifestyle Award).

The POPTFN program was officially launched in the pilot private schools during the school year 2008-2009. Five modules on proper nutrition and physical activity were integrated in the Science or PE classes of participating schools.   Individual launches and “train-the-trainors” during the summer were held at De La Salle Zobel School (Alabang), St. Scholastica’s College (Manila), St. Bridget College (Batangas City), St. Joseph College (Olongapo), St. Peter the Apostle School (Manila) and Woodrose Paref School (Alabang). At the end of the school year, a total of 1350 sixth graders finished the modules. Anthropometric measurements were done by the official AACE-PC nurse before and after the implementation of the modules.

After a successful POPTFN  in 6 private schools for the year 2008 to 2009, it culminated with a momentous ceremonial awards program at the Grand Ballroom of Intercontinental Hotel last April 15, 2009. It was attended by school coordinators and Principals, student awardees with their parents, AACE-PC officers and members, and pharmaceutical companies who have been supporters of the advocacy.

 Twelve exemplary Grade 6 students were chosen amongst the 1,350 students who participated and received the prestigious Senator Edgardo Angara Active Lifestyle Award (SEAALA). The awardees were Lariza Ashley Aunor, Ryan Christian Recto, Nicole Kate Tan  and Justine Raymond Eloriaga (De La Salle Santiago Zobel School); Ava Esperanza Alcantara, Jemima Ric Reyes, Carlyn Thea Villanueva  and Patricia Isabelle Perez (St. Scholastica’s College, Manila); John Michael Jetigan and Jamie Nicole Niu ( St. Peter The Apostle School); Rocio Francesca Guerrero and Danielle Elisse Luna (Paref Woodrose School).

In 2010, one private school Don Bosco Technical School in Mandaluyong with 120 students was included in the POPTFN program.