About Us

Birth of the AACE-Philippines Chapter


"The AACE was founded in 1991 by a visionary group of leaders to serve as the active voice for clinical endocrinologists."

At the time, clinical endocrinology had no input to the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA), nor were clinical endocrinologists represented in the health policy-making bodies of most influential physician societies (i.e., the American Medical Association, American College of Physicians, American Society of Internal Medicine). To address this need, a steering committee of 26 clinical endocrinologiest from across the country accepted responsibility and dedicated a great deal of time and effort to creating AACE. Much care was given to choosing a name in order to reflect the organization's emphasis on providing practicing clinical endocrinologists an  avenue for the study of the scientific, social, political, and economic aspects of endocrinology consistent with maintaining the highest levels of patient care and standards of medical practice.

As the AACE membership grew and a lot of international members have been invited, different chapters internationally were put up. AACE Chapters in India and Nigeria were approved. So the night of the First Augusto D. Litonjua Professional Lecture in Endocrinology on March 11, 2005, Dr. Pauline Camacho, a Board of Director of AACE, who happened to be a recipient of the award, and Dr. Augusto Litonjua agreed to put up a Philippine Chapter. An exploratory meeting was also held in Washington on May 2005.


List of Officers and Board

Current Officers 2013-2014

President: Leilani Gail V. Magtolis Leilani Gail V. Magtolis
President-Elect: Jose Carlos S. Miranda Jose Carlos S. Miranda
Vice President: Raymond U. Oribio Reynaldo D. Rosales
Secretary: Robert Michael G. Gan Robert Michael G. Gan
Treasurer Theresa Marie Valdez-Faller
Assistant Secretary: Marie Yvette R. Amante Marie Yvette R. Amante

Board of Directors

Marie Gertrude I. Santos Marie Gertrude I. Santos Raymond U. Oribio Raymond U. Oribio
Jubilia Balderas-de Guzman  Melanie Grace Valdez
  Rosario R. Bongco    Francis Lee W. Ho
  Demosthenis S. Lumabi    

President Emeritus

Dr. Augusto D. Litonjua

(on leave)

Council of past Presidents

Florence Amorado-Santos - 2013-2014
Marsha C. Tolentino - 2012-2013
Gerry Tan Gerry H. Tan - 2011-2012
Joy Arabelle Castillo-Fontanilla Joy Arabelle Castillo-Fontanilla - 2010-2011
Dr. Estrelle Lopez Dr. Estrellita Fernando-Lopez   - 2009-2010
Dr. Honolina Gomez Dr. Honolina Serro-Gomez    - 2008-2009
Dr. George Tan Dr. George Tan - 2006-2008